Water For Elephants Discussion

March 31, 2009 at 12:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 16 Comments
Tags: , ,

Welcome everyone. I am happy to be able to kick off the first book club discussion ever for our first book Water for Elephants!

I enjoyed the book and finished it about two days after I bought it, which, even though I am a fast reader, is definitely something.

I have never actually been to a circus but early on in reading the book, I got pulled into the crazy setting of the book. At first, it did seem a little strange to me that the main character would immediately think to drop out of school and hitch a ride with a travelling show, especially since parents just died, but upon reading further, it made sense as the circus was basically a home for the misplaced and exiled.

Kinko/Walter was sold to it as a young child because he was probably considered a freak to his mother.

August probably joined with them as a way to more easily mask his mental illness since being a temperamental artist would be more accepted there.

Marlena was added to the acts after she was disowned by her family.

Not to put too fine a point on it, but pretty much everyone associated with the circus seemed kind of like the scavenged and damaged animals Jacob described – trapped in virtual cages of circumstance.

Sure, as people they did have the free will to leave, but when it was pointed out to them that they could (at least in the cases of Marlena and Walter), they hesitated and held themselves back from escaping out of fear that the world outside of their captive lifestyle might be too hard or too cruel.

These kind of thoughts seemed to me like they were no doubt encouraged by the duplicitous Uncle Al. In the beginning, I was convinced that August was set up to be the villain because the story focused a lot on his poor relationships with Marlena and Rosie the Elephant, but as time went on, I became convinced that Al was much more sinister. He may have pretended that the show was a family, going so far as to adopt the moniker “Uncle,” but he manipulated everyone. He somehow convinced people to work for no money. He tried to convince Jacob to get Marlena back together with August after his violent outburst. By the time he’d redlighted Walter and Camel from the train, I was sick of him. Being outright dangerous is one thing because at least people know to avoid you, but putting on an “It’s all for the greater good” attitude with everyone while you do truly heinous things is, in my opinion, worse.

The big thing that I was wondering however when I finished the book was how much of it was supposed to be true. It’s often brought up in book discussions about whether or not the person telling the story is a reliable source and I found myself wondering whether or not old Jacob was reliable.

As much as I did like the story, I questioned parts of it for three reasons:

1) During the prologue, it seems unclear as to exactly who was August’s murderer. When I first read it, all the action was a bit disorienting and I thought that Marlena might have been responsible.

2) Pretty much right from the beginning he admits he has no idea what age he is which to me signaled that he was at the very least, forgetful.

3) At one point during the book, Jacob’s nursing home nurse, conveniently named Rosemary says “Sometimes when you get older […] things you think on and wish on start to seem real. And then you believe them, and before you know it they’re a part of your history […]”

Perhaps this was not the author’s intention, but it did definitely leave me wondering if perhaps Marlena or Jacob had had a hand in the violent conclusion of things or, more towards the end, whether or not Jacob was actually running off to join the circus again. As he had been talking about his previous time in the circus as though it was one of the highlights in his life, it made me wonder whether or not the kindly circus man to take him on was actually doing so.

Could he have just been a byproduct of a disappointed elderly man’s dementia, or, taking it one step further, had Jacob died and this is what he was imagining as he shuffled off his mortal coil?

Anyway, these were my impressions of the book – what were yours? Did you like it? Did you feel attached to any particular character? What parts of it stood out in your mind? Did anyone else question the story of the narrator?

Comment below and we’ll get a dialogue going!

P.S. I will be checking back during the day to respond to comments to keep the discussion going, so you might want to keep tabs on the thread after you comment. Also, I will be putting up a poll for the book club’s next book either later today or early tomorrow.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. All in all not a bad read, although I thought it started rather clumsily. I didn’t start to care about Jacob until after the first 50 pages or so and the ending left me a little unsatisfied. He runs (okay, shuffles) off to join the circus? Also the dialogue seemed a little too updated for the ’30s. I liked the way the author set up the relationships between the human and non-human characters (good and bad) and a Polish speaking elephant kind of intrigued me. What does a Polish elephant do on vacation? Watturski.

    • I too really enjoyed the animals in the story. Sometimes when animals are in books I feel like they can be kind of cheesy, but I like that the animal characters had personality. It made you that much more sympathetic with their situations because, while animal abuse is always horrible, you felt like you knew them a bit more.
      I also found it interesting how at one point when Jacob sees August training Rosie, he (Jacob) seems to get jealous which is part of what made me wonder if he might have been involved August’s death in the first place. After all, August kept both Marlena and Rosie close to him. It must have infuriated Jacob to see two of the big female presences in his life abused by the hand of the same man.

  2. So, just a thought for future months — any chance we could pick the book for the next month earlier on — like maybe middle of the previous month? I just ask because I ordered my book via Amazon SuperSaver shipping the beginning of March, and didn’t get it until 6 days ago. And since I work 80 hours/week, I’m only halfway through the book. If I got the book earlier, it would be finished, but… getting the book with less than a week left means I’m not. If we voted on a book earlier on, obviously there’s no obligation for anyone to start reading the book earlier on, but it allows those of us who don’t have time to go out and actually buy the book in person more time for it to get to us (because obviously we only have pony express mail options to the wild, wild west of Washington, D.C.).

  3. The book was a fast read for me and I enjoyed allowing myself to be entertained by it. I was disappointed with the ending and felt it was a little too convenient. The entire old-man portion of the book was leading up to the disappointment of his family not remembering to come and get him (and BTW, 70…the age he suggests his oldest son is…is not THAT old…we tend to think it is geriatric, but really…my dad is 75 and he wouldn’t ‘forget’ about his dad unless he had a strained relationship with him in the first place) and yet, Jacob gets his happy ending anyway. While it would have been discouraging, it would have been more realistic and therefore more empathy driving to conclude the book in a more responsible way.

    I was very struck by how this man has led such an interesting, full life (which I completely believed, BTW) and in the end it just boils down to being pushed around in a wheelchair and forgotten by the ones you brought into this world.

    Apparently, the author paralleled the character of Jacob to Jacob in the bible (middle of Genesis)…he leaves his family (although in the bible it is because he stole his birthright from his brother), goes off on an adventure, toils away for someone while waiting to marry his true love…finds redemption in the end. But honestly, I missed the parallel while reading the book and really had to search to find it once I had heard about it…I wasn’t impressed…it seemed like a gimmick to me.

    All that said, I thought her research of Circus Trains in the depression was excellent and it definitely brought about the creepy, icky circus/carnival feel that side-show attractions tend to give me. And as I mentioned at the beginning, I was entertained by it. Is it my favorite book ever? Not really, but I appreciated how engaging it was.

    • I too only found out about the whole Bible parallel after I finished reading. I’m not religious so I probably wouldn’t have noticed it even if I had been well-steeped in Biblical History, but hearing that afterwards just made it seem to me like some weird attempt to add more gravity to something that didn’t necessarily need it.
      I agree that the ending felt slightly strange to me. I’m probably more practical about it, but even putting aside my previous thoughts about Jacob possibly being dead or suffering from dementia, I kind of wondered why the circus guy would agree to take a 90-93 year old man on the road with him. Would that not be considered kidnapping in some way?
      As far as I was concerned, I kind of felt like there was somewhat of a happy ending in that he got to be with Marlena and have a life with her, so I didn’t need the additional wrap up of him getting to go back home to the circus.

  4. Nice catch with the Rosemary quote. I thought the same thing! I kind of had a “Waaaaait a minute…!” moment. And if I recall correctly it was stated/hinted at that Jacob had Alzheimer’s? So how much of the book were his real memories and how much was made up?

    If that’s the case I’m not sure how I feel about it. It’s kind of like in middle school and you learn that ending your stories with “And it was all a dream!!” is frowned upon. But at the same time it’s almost sort of tragic because he wants to believe it so much that he’s made the memories real inside his head.

    Do you get what I’m getting at here or am I talking out my butt? I tend to have thoughts faster than I can type them. XD

    Over all, without all the thinking and analyzing, I enjoyed it! Then again I really like books based around sideshow geeks and carnivals and that whole world of ragtag misfits. 🙂

    • Hahaha! I totally get what you mean about feeling discouraged with the “It was all a dream!” type fakeout endings.

      This is a huge part of the reason I am pissed at Douglas Coupland now and refuse to read anything else he writes. I mean after the annoying fakeouts that were Girlfriend in a Coma (the book is an apocalyptic coma dream!) and The Gum Thief (it’s all a short story by the main character!), I finally threw up my hands and gave up on him.

      I know I should be more patriotic, but at this point, don’t care how Canadian the dude is! He can pour maple syrup on all the plastic beavers he wants – until he writes a solid, no-excuses novel, I’m done!

  5. I have to admit that I didn’t actually read this book. My husband and I had it read to us as an audiobook on our “mini-moon” roadtrip last year. I’ll never forget our first introduction to Jacob Jankowski and his almost unintelligibly gruff ninety year old voice (or was it ninety three- oh nevermind.) It kind of set an absurd tone for the entire experience, and wasn’t helped at all by the fact that the only other actor played every other character in the circus. While I could buy his performance as the bright eyed Jacob, and perhaps the sleazy Augie, but when it came to the sultry Marlena, his mock girlish falsetto left something to be desired. So all in all, my experience of this book was a bit different than many of the glowing reviews that convinced me to buy it in the first place. Not to say we didn’t enjoy it, but we just couldn’t take it seriously or feel too engaged in circus world. I’ll be buying an actual book next month!

    • Hahaha! Oh man! You mean you weren’t captivated by Marlena’s feminine wiles as read by a dude doing his best Minnie Mouse impression? For shame! 😛

    • Wow…that makes me giggle…I have never heard to book-on-tape version, but I can assure you the voices you can come up with MUST be better!

  6. I wasn’t expecting much out of this book, honestly, but found my self very engaged and enjoying it by the end. Like others, this was a very quick read for me. It’s probably the best piece of historical-esque fiction I’ve read since Kevin Baker’s Dreamland, which is set at the turn of the century in Coney Island — there’s actually a little bit of similarity there, what with the focus on ‘freaks’ and the carnival, depictions of squalor, etc.

    I actually didn’t question Jacob’s reliability as a narrator– sure, he’s old and crotchety, but ultimately I thought that the story he told was *his* story, and as real as any other. Perhaps it’s because that I question ‘official’ and ‘real’ histories for a living that I take a bit of ‘truth-stretching’ in stride but really, what narrator is truly reliable? We all fill in the gaps in memory one way or the other…

    The one thing I didn’t find plausible is his (and August’s) undying love for Marlena. I didn’t hear the audiobook but I did picture Marlena being a bit of a ditz and just not very interesting. Was it her beauty, her way with the animals, or something else that propelled men to her? Given how fully fleshed the major male characters were in this book, I felt a bit disappointed in Marlena’s character. Even Walter grew on me far more than Marlena– I was sad to read of his demise.

    More thoughts to come later!

    • I can see how you would have felt that way about Marlena.
      I think over time I got the appeal of her a bit more, in that she was compassionate towards the animals and she and Jacob had a similar way with them, but I did initially feel a bit puzzled as to why everyone was so enamoured with her when she didn’t seem to do much.

  7. While I enjoyed the background of what a circus was like during the 30’s, this book definitely wasn’t my favorite. The beginning was kind of slow for me and I didn’t really care for the ending with Jacob rejoining the circus. I too thought it was a bit “kidnappingish.” I guess the middle had to be my favorite. I liked seeing the introduction of Rosie and enjoyed the transformation of Walter. Camel got a bit on my nerves and I couldn’t understand why Walter’s character took such good and continued care of him. But all in all, the writing was good and I’m glad to have reached the goal of finishing it on time 🙂

    • I got the impression when I was reading that Walter was, underneath it all, kind of lonely and secretly a softie. It seemed like he came off as mean because he was worried that people might underestimate him or make fun of him because of his size. However, once he knew he could trust someone (as we saw in his relationship with Jacob), he eased up a little and could be a good friend.
      I think of everyone in the book (well the human characters at least), Walter was probably my favourite. His reaction when he thought he had lost his dog broke my heart (although this could be because I have a soft spot for dogs).

  8. Wow I just reread my post and realized that I came off as sort of a negative Nancy. Note to self: don’t wait until after long day at work to comment on book 😉 And I totally agree- Walter was my favorite character too

  9. Ooh! I’m not part of this book club, but just read this book recently by happenstance. I think there’s definitely some question of the reliability of the narrator–beyond just the nurse Rosemary’s comment and his potential Alzheimer’s/dementia. Two things to think about:
    1. How a really twisted, messed up story suddenly seemed to have all its loose ends tied in sweet little bows at the end (post-circus & the second joining of the circus)
    2. The parallels between keeping an elephant drunk to handle it and the care given the old narrator.

    I think that we’re supposed to see the potential there for ambiguity/problems, but that–like a typical circus audience–we the readers are supposed to also be pleased at the end product, anyway.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.