And The Elephants Have It!

March 2, 2009 at 2:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

It was quite the battle, but it seems Water for Elephants kicked the competition’s ass with over 53% of the vote! Poor Michael Chabon and Christopher Moore didn’t stand a chance against those crazy circus dwelling pachyderms!

water

My apologies to those who came late to the club and did not get to vote this round, but I hope to have an online poll system in place by the time we hit the next book.

Anyway, as previously mentioned, the plan is to “meet” here on March 31st to discuss the title. You can discuss it by either participating in the comment section of the main post here at this blog (kind of fun since it’ll feel like a conversation), or, if you have lengthier thoughts you’d like to share, you can submit a link to a post on your own blog.  Since we are all in different times zones with different work hours, when you pop by is up to you and I will do my best to moderate throughout the day.

If you have any addition questions beyond the info that has been posted on this site, or if you’d like to offer suggestions/comments/a bio to the members section, please feel free to e-mail me at girlonthepark@gmail.com.

Cheers and happy reading!
J

(For convenience’s sake, here are some quick links to the book on Amazon.com and Amazon.ca)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dood! You’re going to love it. I’m going to come spy on your club this round, then join in for the next.

  2. All in all not a bad read, although I thought it started rather clumsily. I didn’t start to care about Jacob until after the first 50 pages or so and the ending left me a little unsatisfied. He runs (okay, shuffles) off to join the circus? Also the dialogue seemed a little too updated for the ’30s. I liked the way the author set up the relationships between the human and non-human characters (good and bad) and a Polish speaking elephant kind of intrigued me. What does a Polish elephant do on vacation? Watturski.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.